There are those that don’t understand the power of reflective observation.  They mistakenly believe that there is nothing to learn after a few cursory visits to a classroom.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact, the most important key to building insight and deeper understanding about teaching and learning is to engage in a steady volume of daily classroom observation.  What we have learned over the past ten years is that after about every 300 classroom observations, the observer will notice, discern, and/or learn something new… something that was previously hidden. It is the “Eureka” moment, and there is nothing else like it in instructional leadership.


In this pursuit, there is the PowerWalks Legendary Leadership Badge that is earned every 300th PowerWalks Observation. The following 108 instructional leaders have already earned the Legendary Leadership Badge for the 2019/2020 school year (as of 11/30/19).


Two Legendary Leadership Badges (7)

Michael Grebb (PISD): November; September

James Kisner (KISD): November; October

Ronald Marshall (JCPS): November; October

Kenya Natsis (JCPS): November; October

Alejandro Olvera (SISD): November; September


Clint Shuman (PISD): October; September


Jesse Sepulveda (SISD): September; August



One Legendary Leadership Badge (101)

Helen Adeniken (PISD): November

Georgie Arenaz (PISD): November

Darren Atkinson (JCPS): November

Anne Ballou-Bates (PISD): November

Domiana Battah-Miari (DISD): November

Vernon Berckmoes (TISD): November

Ana Carroll (SISD): November

Christy Chandler (PISD): November

Tammy Cheshire (DISD): November

Allison Cissell (JCPS): November

Brett Colemen (PISD): November

Eric Cormier (BISD): November

Angie Crew (GPISD): November

Yesenia De La Cruz (LPISD): November

Daniel Delgado (SISD): November

Kerri Dixon (JCPS): November

Rebecca Embry (PISD): November

Andre Emmons (DISD): November

Lisa Estrada (SISD): November

Scott Ford (PISD): November

Patricia Franco (SISD): November

Cynthia Galaviz (GPISD): November

Frenda Serda Gerardo (SISD): November

Sonia Gonzales (KISD): November

Greg Hatch (SISD): November

Mary Hendry (DISD): November

Darlene Hernandez (SISD): November

Analeasa Holmes (LISD): November

Katrina Johnson (GPISD): November

Laura Juarez (SISD): November

Mark Kettering (DISD): November

Stephanie Lattorre (PISD): November

Jennifer Marquez (SISD): November

Michael McNeil (GPISD): November

Jesus Mendez (SISD): November

Bruce Mooy (SISD): November

Richa Muhammad (PISD): November

Tera Marburgh (GPISD): November

Desiree Nava (SISD): November

Karen Nixon (LISD): November

Gerardo Ortiz (PISD): November

Kassie Parrish (LISD): November

Rachel Pena (SISD): November

Jennifer Perez (PISD): November

Katie Prentice (PISD): November

Carrie Quinney (PISD): November

Adrian Ramirez (SISD): November

Ivan Ramirez (SISD): November

Don Reid (JCPS): November

Mandie Salaiz (DISD): November

Jacqueline Salas (SISD): November

Jaremy Sanders (GPISD): November

Joan Schlaht (LISD): November

Chesta Schneider (DISD): November

Manuel Serros (SISD): November

Dina Schaefer (PISD): November

Daniel Sharp (KISD): November

Christie Smith (PISD): November

Jessica Smith (PISD): November

Mary Beth Smith (JCPS): November

Robert Stell (PISD): November

Jennifer Stewart (LISD): November

Conni Strange (JCPS): November

Aracely Suarez (PISD): November

LaToya Taylor (LISD): November

Ruth Taylor (SISD): November

Vincent Thomas (SISD): November

Uyen Tran (PISD): November

Verlean West (DISD): November

Kertrenia Wright (SISD): November


Genia Antoine (PISD): October

Shawn Bradford (DISD): October

Cindy Craigie (PISD): October

Julie Cummings (JCPS): October

Curtis Daugherty (LPISD): October

Nancy Delosa (GPISD): October

Sandra Dilworth (CFISD): October

Jina Eksaengsri (SISD): October

Jennifer Engels (LPISD): October

Robert Gaskins (JCSP): October

Nekeba George (LPISD): October

Desi Gonzales (SISD): October

Christopher Gregory (PISD): October

Andrew Halatyn (SISD): October

Kendra Herrera (KISD): October

Daniel Lopez (DISD): October

James McBride (DISD): October

Bill Miller (JCPS): October

John O’Hare (PISD): October

Josh Tovar (SISD): October


Ashley Adcox-Garner (SISD): September

Esteban Alvarez (SISD): September

Earnest Brooks (GPISD): September

Rosa Maria Chavez-Avedician (SISD): September

Ignacio Estorga (SISD): September

Al Garcia (SISD): September

Juan Gonzalez (SISD): September

Kade Griffin (LPISD): September

Jared Stevenson (PISD): September


Monica Castro (SISD): August

Randi Shreve (SISD): August


Think. Work. Achieve.

Your turn…

  • Upcoming Conference Presentations: TASSP Assistant Principal Conference; ASCD Empower Conference; TASSP Summer Conference (Keynote); NAESP Summer Conference (Multiple Presentations) 
  • Follow @LYSNation on Twitter and Lead Your School on Facebook.