There are those that don’t understand the power of reflective observation.  They mistakenly believe that there is nothing to learn after a few cursory visits to a classroom.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact, the most important key to building insight and deeper understanding about teaching and learning is to engage in a steady volume of daily classroom observation. What we have learned over the past ten years is that after about every 300 classroom observations, the observer will notice, discern, and/or learn something new… something that was previously hidden. It is the “Eureka” moment, and there is nothing else like it in instructional leadership.


In this pursuit, there is the PowerWalks Legendary Leadership Badge that is earned every 300thPowerWalks Observation. The following 112 instructional leaders have already earned the Legendary Leadership Badge for the 2018/2019 school year (as of 11/30/2018).


Four Legendary Leadership Badges (1 Person)

Eric Cormier (BISD): November; October; October; September



Three Legendary Leadership Badges (2 Person)

Kade Griffin (LPISD): November; October; September

Julien Guillory (GPISD):November; October; September



Two Legendary Leadership Badges (8 People)

Daniel Hutchins (FISD): November; October

James Kisner (KISD): November; October

Mason Kyle (KISD): November; October

Daniel Lopez (DISD): November; October

Chris Price (CISD): November; November

Pearl Perez (CISD): November; October

Janie Snyder (CISD): November; September

Nassrin Spencer (CISD): November; October



One Legendary Leadership Badge (101 People)

Mary Alejandro (GPISD): November

Shameel Ali (GPISD): November

Steve Alley (GPISD): November

Araceli Altamirano (GISC): November

Jennifer Anderson (CISD): November

Genia Antoine (PISD): November

Pete Armstrong (CISD): November

Darren Atkinson (JCPS): November

Tanisha Baker (GPISD): November

David Bobb (JCPS): November

Krystle Breden (GPISD): November

Kenneth Bryant (GPISD): November

Christy Chandler (PISD): November

Tammy Cheshire (DISD): November

Shannon Clancy (CISD): November

Shele Coburn (CISD): November

Sabrina Cordova (CISD): November

Kim Coslow (JCPS): November

Angie Crew (GPISD): November

Geraldo Cruz (GPISD): November

Brian Dawson (PISD): November

Grace Devost (GPISD): November

Malinda Dutkowski (JCPS): November

Luz Eblen (GPISD): November

Chris Eckford (GPISD): November

Lisa Ellison (JCPS): November

Robb Fulk (JCPS): November

Cynthia Galaviz (GPISD): November

Esther Garcia (CISD): November

Anna Gonzalez (GPISD): November

Juan Gonzalez (SISD): November

Amanda Gordon (CISD): November

Michael Grebb (PISD): November

Christopher Gregory (PISD): November

Darlene Havard (DISD): November

Karen Ivy (CISD): November

Katrina Johnson (GPISD): November

Kettisha Jones (PISD): November

Shon Joseph (DISD): November

Mark Kettering (DISD): November

Greg Kuhn (JCPS): November

Mary Lariviere (CISD): November

Bethanie Logan (SISD): November

James McBride (DISD): November

Michael McNeil (GPISD): November

Sandra McQuade (BISD): November

Kelli McWashington (DISD): November

Michelle Merricks (CFISD): November

Diana Moore (DISD): November

Pattie Myers (CISD): November

Kenya Natsis (JCPS): November

Jason Neuss (JCPS): November

Eli Ramke (CISD): November

Tammy Rebecek (PISD): November

Don Reid (JCPS): November

Tonkeyta Rodgers (JCPS): November

Marivel Sedillo (PISD): November

June Shackelford (JCPS): November

Ashley Sherrard (GPISD): November

Lakendra Simon (DISD): November

Keith Skiles (GPISD): November

Jarred Smith (DISD): November

Mary Beth Smith (JCPS): November

Rebecca Smith (CISD): November

Nathan Steenport (PISD): November

Cheryl Sterrett (CISD): November

Jared Stevenson (PISD): November

Conni Strange (JCPS): November

Vicki Thomas (DISD): November

Tara Thompson (GPISD): November

Adrian Tristan (PISD): November

Josh Tovar (SISD): November

Sara Watson (PISD): November


Matt Ammerman (BISD): October

Crystal Acosta (KISD): October

Ashlee Boothe (CISD): October

Earnest Brooks (LPISD): October

Sean Cain (LYS): October

Julie Cummings (JCSP): October

Timeka Davis (CISD): October

Nancy Delosa (GPISD): October

Sonia Gonzales (KISD): October

Linda Hudson (JCPS): October

Jamaal Hunnicutt (GISC): October

Dennis Jamison (CISD): October

Javian Johnson (CISD): October

Angela Kupcho (CISD): October

Sarah Lanahan (PISD): October

Tera Marburgh (GPISD): October

Erica McClure (JCPS): October

Laura Miller (KISD): October

John O’Hare (PISD): October

Katie Perkins (GPISD): October

Robert Reedy (JCPS): October

Mark Rodriguez (CISD): October

Heather Seibert (GPISD): October

Daniel Sharp (KISD): October

Patty Ward (MISD): October

Alyson Wilkins (CISD): October


Mike Laird (LYS): September


Robert Armenta (GUSD): August


Think. Work. Achieve.

Your turn…

  • Upcoming Conference Presentations: TASSP Assistant / Aspiring Principal Conference; ASCD Empower19 Conference; NAESP Summer Conference; TASSP Summer Conference; Fundamental 5 National Summit (Keynote)
  • Follow @LYSNation on Twitter and Lead Your School on Facebook.