There are those that don’t understand the power of reflective observation.  They mistakenly believe that there is nothing to learn after a few cursory visits to a classroom.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact, the most important key to building insight and deeper understanding about teaching and learning is to engage in a steady volume of daily classroom observation. What we have learned over the past ten years is that after about every 300 classroom observations, the observer will notice, discern, and/or learn something new… something that was previously hidden. It is the “Eureka” moment, and there is nothing else like it in instructional leadership.


In this pursuit, there is the PowerWalks Legendary Leadership Badge that is earned every 300thPowerWalks Observation. The following 38 instructional leaders have already earned the Legendary Leadership Badge for the 2018/2019 school year (as of 10/31/2018).


Three Legendary Leadership Badges (1 Person)

Eric Cormier (BISD): October; October; September



Two Legendary Leadership Badges (2 People)

Kade Griffin (LPISD): October; September

Julien Guillory (GPISD):October; September



One Legendary Leadership Badge (35 People)

Matt Ammerman (BISD): October

Crystal Acosta (KISD): October

Ashlee Boothe (CISD): October

Earnest Brooks (LPISD): October

Sean Cain (LYS): October

Julie Cummings (JCSP): October

Timeka Davis (CISD): October

Nancy Delosa (GPISD): October

Sonia Gonzales (KISD): October

Linda Hudson (JCPS): October

Jamaal Hunnicutt (GISC): October

Daniel Hutchins (FISD): October

Dennis Jamison (CISD): October

Javian Johnson (CISD): October

James Kisner (KISD): October

Angela Kupcho (CISD): October

Mason Kyle (KISD): October

Sarah Lanahan (PISD): October

Daniel Lopez (DISD): October

Tera Marburgh (GPISD): October

Erica McClure (JCPS): October

Laura Miller (KISD): October

John O’Hare (PISD): October

Pearl Perez (CISD): October

Katie Perkins (GPISD): October

Robert Reedy (JCPS): October

Mark Rodriguez (CISD): October

Heather Seibert (GPISD): October

Daniel Sharp (KISD): October

Nassrin Spencer (CISD): October

Patty Ward (MISD): October

Alyson Wilkins (CISD): October


Mike Laird (LYS): September

Janie Snyder (CISD): September


Robert Armenta (GUSD): August


Think. Work. Achieve.

Your turn…

  • Upcoming Conference Presentations: AIE Conference; ASCD Empower19 Conference
  • Follow @LYSNation on Twitter and Lead Your School on Facebook.