There are those that don’t understand the power of reflective observation.  They mistakenly believe that there is nothing to learn after a few cursory visits to a classroom.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact, the most important key to building insight and deeper understanding about teaching and learning is to engage in a steady volume of daily classroom observation.  What we have learned over the past ten years is that after about every 300 classroom observations, the observer will notice, discern, and/or learn something new… something that was previously hidden. It is the “Eureka” moment, and there is nothing else like it in instructional leadership.


In this pursuit, there is the PowerWalks Legendary Leadership Badge that is earned every 300th PowerWalks Observation. The following instructional leaders have already earned the Legendary Leadership Badge for the 2017/2018 school year (as of 12/31/17).


Four Legendary Leadership Badges

Kenneth Bryant (GPISD): December; November; October; September

Julien Guillory (GPISD): December; November; November; October



Two Legendary Leadership Badges

Eric Cormier (BISD): December; October

Gerardo Cruz (GPISD): December; October

Nancy Delosa (GPISD): December; October

Karen Ivy (CISD): December; October

Javian Johnson (CISD): December; December

Angela Kupcho (CISD): December; November

Janie Snyder (GPISD): December; October

Nassrin Spencer (CISD): December; November


Krystle Breden (GPISD): November; September

Julien Guillory (GPISD): November; October

Chris Viator (LPISD): November; September


Shon Joseph (LISD): October: September



One Legendary Leadership Badge

Michael Alvarez (LPISD): December

Matt Ammerman (BISD): December

Pete Armstrong (CISD): December

Tori Bernard (CISD): December

Bryan Brooks (CISD): December

Shannon Clancy (CISD): December

DeDe Conaway (BISD): December

Rebecca Conrad (SISD): December

Kim Coslow (JCPS): December

Jim Dawson (JCPS): December

Rolaura Deanda (SISD): December

Kristy Dietrich (CISD): December

Greg Fehr (JCPS): December

Tony Gardea (GPISD): December

Anna Gonzalez (GPISD): December

Juan Gonzalez (SISD): December

Bart Graves (GPISD): December

James Hair (GPISD): December

Andrew Halatyn (SISD): December

Jimmy Heffernan (GISD): December

Jillian Howard (GPISD): December

Joni Husband (JCPS): December

Shunta Jackson (LISD): December

Dennis Jamison (CISD): December

Beverly Johnson (JCPS); December

Javian Johnson (CISD): December

Paige Johnson (DISD): December

Laura Juarez (SISD: December

John Killough (GPISD): December

Charita Kimbrough (JCPS): December

Talisha Machuca (GPISD): December

Jeffrey Marshall (JCPS); December

Brian Meers (JCPS): December

Amanda Morrison (LISD): December

Ericka Nelson (LISD): December

Sara Nethery (JCPS): December

Maxann Newby (JCPS): December

Nicole Newsome (GPISD): December

Alejandro Olvera (SISD): December

Katie Perkins (GPISD): December

Jessica Rose (LPISD): December

Sandra Salge (GPISD): December

Heather Seibert (GPISD): December

Keith Skiles (GPISD): December

Donald Spanyer (JCPS): December

Sheila Stephens (CISD): December

Jason Stinson (JCPS): December

Sima Tammer (GPISD): December

Jesse Teran (SISD): December

Aimee Tolleson (GISD): December

Josh Tovar (SISD): December

Grisel Wallace (LPISD): December

Melissa Watts (JCPS): December

Lisa Weaver (DISD): December

Brian Williams (CISD): December

Carol Williams (LPISD): December


Emily Allen (JCPS): November

Allison Alpha (CISD): November

David Bobb (JCPS): November

Ruby Bonilla (GPISD): November

Ashlee Boothe (CISD): November

Norma Briseno (DISD): November

Stephanie Curl (JCPS): November

Malinda Dutkowski (JCPS): November

Susan Finkle (CCSD1): November

Teri Hans (JCPS): November

Jamie Hargrave (GPISD): November

Danielle Harney (GPISD): November

Genevieve Harris (JCPS): November

GayLynn Holt (DISD): November

Linda Hudson (JCPS): November

Edward Husk (CISD): November

Jeremy Jenkins (JCPS): November

Jeff Jennings (JCPS): November

Angela Johnson (JCPS): November

James Kisner (KISD): November

Van LeJeune (MISD): November

Amanda Lisso (DISD): November

Kimberly Martin (GPISD): November

Myron Montgomery (JCPS): November

Christina Moore (GPISD); November

Dawn Roy (JCPS): November

Steve Sherrouse (CISD): November

Shannon Smith (JCPS): November

Andre Taylor (LISD): November

Tara Thompson (GPISD): November

Brianna Vorhis-Topping (GPISD): November

Patty Ward (MISD): November

Susan Webb (JCPS): November

Alyson Wilkins (CISD): November

Mark Williams (SISD): November

Lori Wright (GPISD): November


Toni Chapman (CCSD1): October

Jennifer Engels (LPISD): October

Larry Gerhart (LPISD): October

Greg Lauder (JCPS): October

Tera Marburgh (GPISD): October

Ann Murphy (GPISD): October

Pattie Myers (CISD): October

Barika Noris (GPISD): October

Candace Pohl (LPISD): October

Robert Reedy (JCPS): October


Derrick Brown (SISD): September

Think. Work. Achieve.

Your turn…

  • Upcoming Conference Presentations: TASSP Assistant Principal Workshop (Keynote); NAESP National Conference (Multiple Presentations); NASSP National Principals Conference; LYS/TASSP Leadership Symposium (Keynote 
  • Follow @LYSNation on Twitter and Lead Your School on facebook.