There are those that don’t understand the power of reflective observation.  They mistakenly believe that there is nothing to learn after a few cursory visits to a classroom.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact, the most important key to building insight and deeper understanding about teaching and learning is to engage in a steady volume of daily classroom observation.  What we have learned over the past ten years is that after about every 300 classroom observations, the observer will notice, discern, and/or learn something new… something that was previously hidden. It is the “Eureka” moment, and there is nothing else like it in instructional leadership.

In this pursuit, there is the PowerWalks Legendary Leadership Badge that is earned every 300th PowerWalks Observation. The following instructional leaders have already earned the Legendary Leadership Badge for the 2016/2017 school year (as of 2/28/17).

Three Badges Tom Jaggard: February 2017; January 2017; November 2016

Two Badges Michelle Casas: February 2017; November 2016 Christopher Collins: February 2017; November 2016 Susan Finkle: February 2017; November 2016 Margaret Havard: February 2017; January 2017 Pattie Myers: February 2017; Fall 2016 Christina Spears: February 2017; November 2016 John Speck: February 2017; October 2016 Nassrin Spencer: February 2017; Fall 2016

Donna Price: January 2017; November 2016 Patti Ward: January 2017; October 2016

One Badge U. Alvey: February 2017 Pete Armstrong: February 2017 Glenn Barnes: February 2017 Courtney Berry: February 2017 Lorie Bratcher: February 2017 Kenneth Bryant: February 2017 Norma Briseno: February 2017 Carla Butler: February 2017 Stella Chen: February 2017 Brandon Cobb: February 2017 Shele Coburn: February 2017 Denise Collins: February 2017 DeDe Conaway: February 2017 Linda Cox: February 2017 Larry Crabb: February 2017 Tonya Cummings: February 2017 Tami Davis: February 2017 Remy Godfrey: February 2017 Jeff Groseclose: February 2017 Naomi Esparza: February 2017 Greg Hatch: February 2017 GayLynn Holt: February 2017 Edward Husk: February 2017 Karen Ivy: February 2017 Caleb Jackson: February 2017 Roshon Jackson: February 2017 Paige Johnson: February 2017 Chris Johnstone: February 2017 Van LeJeune: February 2017 Erica Lewis: February 2017 Valerie Luckett: February 2017 Stephen McCanless: February 2017 Daniel McKee: February 2017 Kimberly McKnight: February 2017 Sheila Ochoa: February 2017 Alejandro Olvera: February 2017 Rebecca Osborne: February 2017 Denise Poland: February 2017 Robin Rice: February 2017 Scott Rogers: February 2017 Dawn Roy: February 2017 Chesta Scheider: February 2017 Steve Sherrouse: February 2017 Rebecca Smith: February 2017 Janie Snyder: February 2017 Jan Spears: February 2017 Sheila Stephens: February 2017 Cheryl Sterrett: February 2017 Rose Tran: February 2017 Robert Urbanowiez: February 2017 Bridgett Valenzuela: February 2017 Monica Waggoner: February 2017 Tamika Washington: February 2017 Lisa Weaver: February 2017 Tom Weed: February 2017

Benita Allard: January 2017 Destiny Barrera: January 2017 Derrick Brown: January 2017 Sean Cain: January 2017 Jennie Currin: January 2017 Linda Ernwine: January 2017 Glenda Henry: January 2017 Jillian Howard: January 2017 Ranae Lane: January 2017 Amanda Lisso: January 2017 Cortney Lucas: January 2017 Gina Reuter: January 2017 Ryan Searle: January 2017 Ernest Smith: January 2017 Kelsey Smith: January 2017 Rob Stephenson: January 2017

Cynthia Childers: December 2016 E. Cormier: December 2016 Lisa Fain: December 2016 James Kisner: December 2016 Kevin Odea: December 2016 Blake Maxwell: December 2016 Tim Merki: December 2016 Rhonda Mieth: December 2016 Jenny Morris: December 2016 Melissa Myers: December 2016 Diane Ranft: December 2016 Lois Redden: December 2016 Patsy Sanchez: December 2016 Michelle Schreiner: December 2016 Joel Thomas: December 2016 Jacinda Waldrip: December 2016

Monta Bonham: November 2016 Kenneth Bryant: November 2016 Tra Hall: November 2016 Christal Hammond: November 2016 Brian Odom: November 2016 Tisha Piwetz: November 2016 Angie Quinn: November 2016 Gina Vilches: November 2016

Visit Classrooms… Beat Cancer! Your turn…

  • Call Jo at (832) 477-LEAD to order your campus set of “The Fundamental 5: The Formula for Quality Instruction.” Individual copies available on!
  • Upcoming Conference Presentations: The National Principals Conference; The Fundamental 5 National Summit (Keynote)
  • Now at the Apple App Store: Fun 5 Timer (Fundamental 5 Delivery Tool); PowerWalks CLC (Networked Formative Observation Tool) 
  • Follow Sean Cain and LYS on  and like Lead Your School on Facebook